BMW wins the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps

Home » BMW wins the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps
BMW wins the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps

The BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team won the 24 hours of Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium) on Sunday, the second round of the World Endurance Championship. On a hilly and very fast track, which the drivers found after 19 years of absence, the trio composed of the German Markus Reiterberger, the Ukrainian Ilya Michailchik and the Frenchman Jérémy Guarnoni triumphed.

The three men won seven laps ahead of the Kawasaki TATI Team of Frenchmen Alain Techer, Grégory Leblanc and Loïc Arbel and eight laps ahead of the Honda FCC TSR of Englishman Gino Rea, Australian Josh Hook and Frenchman Mike Di Meglio.

Interruption of the race for two and a half hours

The Suzuki of the Yoshimura SERT Motul team of Frenchmen Gregg Black and Sylvain Guintoli and Belgian Xavier Siméon, who won the 24 Hours of Le Mansplayed for a long time for another victory, but was betrayed by clutch problems, in the middle of the night, then by the spectacular fall of Black, Sunday morning.

Relieved of their third position two minutes from the end, the Black-Guintoli-Siméon trio nevertheless preserved their first place in the general classification of the Championship. The eventful race was interrupted after 9:17 p.m. and for two and a half hours on Sunday morning due to the combined presence of rain and oil on the track.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.